New year…

New Year… New Me… yeah, so that line is complete crap. We’re nearly two weeks into the new year so I have had a bit of time to unwind from the holidays and to have a full look at myself and what I want to do this year. I don’t make resolutions anymore, because they just don’t seem to work for me (or rather I don’t work for them). Instead I sat down with my pen and notebook and set some basic goals and outlined 2019.

Apart from the usual eat healthy, exercise more and be more mindful, I have a few other goals that I have in mind.

  • Get my skincare routine sorted. I have always been fairly lucky with my skin. I never gad acne. The teenage spots didn’t really hit me that hard. Regardless, I have always been fairly good about taking off my makeup, cleansing my skin and putting on moisturizer daily. I even have a fairly decent collection of mud masks and sheet masks. But as I am getting a little bit older, I find my skin is a little bit more sensitive and temperamental (the weather changing every few seconds doesn’t help much). So this year I’m gonna try and experiment a little. Try and find a night moisturizer, a serum, maybe get a facial or something… so if anyone has any recommendations, I’m all ears.
  • I want to write more. I’ve written quite a bit in the past year and it’s something that I want to do more of. And it really doesn’t matter if it leads to anything, I have a few stories in my mind and I need to make space for more.
  • Speaking of writing I hope to be more present on this platform too. I find it freeing to just dump out my thoughts here. And it may seem like bit of mambo jumbo sometimes (and usually it is) but if it reaches someone and maybe makes them feel better well then at least that’s a bonus.
  • Read more. So every year I set a goal for the amount of books I want to read. Normally it is somewhere between 25 and 35 depending on my commitments for that year. The last two years I wanted to read 30 books and both years I read 36. This year I am setting the goal at 35 and hoping to read more.
  • Sort out my sleeping pattern. The last few weeks it has been all over the place. and it will be still for the next two weeks at least. I am hoping to get up early this year. and I mean early for me. 6:30 I hope, especially once it starts getting lighter early again.
  • Travel. To at least one new country. I am already going to Edinburgh in February and hopefully somewhere else this summer, even for a couple of days.
  • Get my pupper to start eating more. The vet says he’s healthy, slim but healthy. The thing is, he’s turning two this year and we are putting him up for stud. Apparently when a dog goes up for stud, during his… erm… excitement?…. they tend to burn up a lot of energy and  loose some weight. I know what your’e thinking… just feed him more! Yeah…. nope. He’s not food motivated. He really isn’t. We’ve tried nearly every brand of food and are finally getting somewhere with the brand of food we are trying now.

There are a few more items that are on that list that I want to keep private for now. But so far it’s looking pretty reasonable and hopefully reachable.

 


Leave a comment