February Reading Wrap-up

So, February of 2020 the calm before the storm. The month of February was a busy month for me personally, we were packing up the house and moving and I had multiple rehearsals for a big event in Dublin, combine that with the terrible weather and growing concern over the Covid-19 virus and the month flew by in a matter of minutes and yet I still managed to read, so here we go, this is everything I have read in February of 2020.

Letters to the Lost (by Brigid Kemmerer)

Read in Paperback borrowed from friend. 391 pages. Young Adult Contemporary.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I don’t normally give five star ratings to books unless I absolutely love them, and boy-oh-boy was this book super cute!!! The story was very poignant and so lovely and the characters were well thought out and quite realistic with their own trials and tribulations. The dialogue (very important to me) was witty and the pace was quick. I read the book over a few hours in one sitting. I highly recomend especially to teenagers.

Pros: Quick, easy and sweet read.

Cons: Wouldn’t be satisfying to older readers as that is not the target audience.

One of us is Next (by Karen M. McManus)

Red in Paperback format. 377 pages. Young Adult Mystery.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This is a cozy mystery that is geared towards young adult readers. It is a second book in the series and although it is beneficial to have read the first book I would’t say that it is absolutely necessary. I really enjoyed the story and the twist was unpredictable and I was quite surprised by it. I really recommend this author to people (especially teens) that want to get into thrillers or mysteries but don’t know where to start or that are hesitant to read anything too graphic or gruesome.

Pros: Quick, cozy read with a decent twist.

Cons: Crossover of characters from the previous book can make it confusing and a bit difficult to keep track of.

Half-Blood (by Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Read in Paperback format. 281 pages. Young adult Paranormal/Fantasy (Vampires kind-of)

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I love anything written by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I find her writing style very appealing and the dialogue witty. The reason the book has quite low ratings on goodreads is because it is incredibly similar to vampire academy (minus Vasilisa) and people really hate that, but since I enjoyed Vampire Academy and I love Armentrouts writing style this book was right up my alley. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series to see if the story branches off in a different direction.

Pros: Satisfying read. Quick flowing story.

Cons: Story line is very very similar to another book.

Daimon (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Read in paperback as an attached novella. 62 pages. Young Adult Paranormal Fantasy.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

A little novella that was attached to Half-Blood. Explains origins of one of the main characters, Daimon. Not much to say about it except that it is a small insight into the reasoning behind him being so high and mighty all the time. I think it could be a little better thought out and maybe incorporated into the main story.

Pros: A little bit of insight into Daimons past.

Cons: Should have been incorporated into the main story.

The Score (by Elle Kennedy)

Audio book format. 361 pages. New Adult/ Adult Contemporary. 18+

Rating: 3 out of 5.

A surprisingly low rating for an Elle Kennedy book. This is the 3rd book in the off-campus series. Book contains a crap ton of smut, which is exactly what Elle Kennedy is good at, however it did not sit as well with me as the first two. I listened to the audio book in the car over a couple of weeks. the actual story line is fine, for some reason I just didn’t click with it that well! I give it about 3 and a half stars.

February Summary

This month I read/listened to 5 books. One Audio Book, one book borrowed from a friend and three physical books. It was an average reading month with one new five star rating book (very rare for me). total number of pages read this month 1,472.


Leave a comment